Skip to content

Banking & Financing

The current financial climate can pose challenges for organizations now facing rapid economic change. Stewart McKelvey lawyers have extensive experience acting on behalf of lenders, borrowers, equity investors and venture capitalists.

Our in-depth knowledge regarding banking and private lending operations is derived from representation of Canadian chartered banks, other banks and financial institutions, both domestic and foreign, together with frequent representation of corporate borrowers, from small business to our region’s largest companies.

We can help ensure your organization is structured to minimize burdens while ensuring all relevant regulations are met.

Our lawyers have been consistently ranked in Best Lawyers in Banking and Finance Law.

Insights

Throughout the year, our banking and finance lawyers provide written insights and updates on recent case law and legislation in the region and beyond. To learn more about relevant topics, click on one of the following titles:

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Abi Daoud

Rachel Abi Daoud

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3408

rabidaoud@stewartmckelvey.com

Alexander

Diedre Alexander

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1726

dalexander@stewartmckelvey.com

Anderson

Tiffany Anderson

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.9947

tanderson@stewartmckelvey.com

Baker

Ryan Baker

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1760

rbaker@stewartmckelvey.com

Begashaw

Eyoab Begashaw

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.490.8549

ebegashaw@stewartmckelvey.com

Brison

Hannah Brison

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3315

hbrison@stewartmckelvey.com

Brodeur

Gabriel D. Brodeur

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5791

gbrodeur@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Burke
Andrew Burke

Andrew Burke

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3395

aburke@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Cameron
Hugh Cameron

Hugh Cameron,
K.C.

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0120

+1.506.457.8881

hcameron@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Chiasson
Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

Coats

Madeleine Coats

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.8801

mcoats@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Connolly
Geoffrey Connolly

Geoffrey Connolly,
K.C., FEC, P.Eng.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4515

+1.902.626.6244

gconnolly@stewartmckelvey.com

Cyr

Emily Cyr

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0137

ecyr@stewartmckelvey.com

Delaney

Jahvon Delaney

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3327

jdelaney@stewartmckelvey.com

Dickinson

Jordan Dickinson

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1966

jdickinson@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Dickson
James M. Dickson

James M. Dickson,
K.C., P.Eng.

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3308

+1.902.456.0117

jdickson@stewartmckelvey.com

Dlugosch

Karl Dlugosch

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.722.4270

kdlugosch@stewartmckelvey.com

Elsliger

Luc Elsliger

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2232

lelsliger@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Freeman
Lawrence Freeman

Lawrence Freeman,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3321

lfreeman@stewartmckelvey.com

Gamblin
James Gamblin

James Gamblin

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.8803

jgamblin@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Henderson
Lauren Henderson

Lauren Henderson

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8315

lhenderson@stewartmckelvey.com

Hewitt

Justin Hewitt

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8846

jhewitt@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Hirsch
Richard Hirsch

Richard Hirsch

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3348

rhirsch@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Hutchison
Steve Hutchison

Steve Hutchison,
K.C.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2784

shutchison@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Jacobs
Matthew Jacobs

Matthew Jacobs

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5790

mjacobs@stewartmckelvey.com

Jacobs

Neil Jacobs,
K.C.

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8888

+1.709.690.5999

njacobs@stewartmckelvey.com

James

Tyler James

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3324

tjames@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Jan
Sadira Jan

Sadira Jan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1701

sjan@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Jones
Laurie Jones

Laurie Jones

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3355

ljones@stewartmckelvey.com

Jones

Nico Jones

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3351

njones@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Keyes
Colleen Keyes

Colleen Keyes

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1716

ckeyes@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Kiley
Paul Kiley

Paul Kiley

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4536

pkiley@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Lahey
Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
K.C.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Landry
Kevin Landry

Kevin Landry

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3359

klandry@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
MacDonald
Dylan MacDonald

Dylan MacDonald

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3312

dmacdonald@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
MacFadyen
D. Fraser MacFadyen

D. Fraser MacFadyen

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3365

+1.902.488.3717

fmacfadyen@stewartmckelvey.com

MacKeigan

Robert G. MacKeigan,
K.C.

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1771

robbie@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
MacLeod
Deanne MacLeod

Deanne MacLeod,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3313

dmacleod@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Marr
Christopher Marr

Christopher Marr,
TEP

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2789

cmarr@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
McCarthy
Allison McCarthy

Allison McCarthy

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8977

+1.506.461.2218

amccarthy@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
McElman
Frederick McElman

Frederick McElman,
CM, K.C.

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8979

+1.506.461.2153

fmcelman@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
McMackin
Andrew McMackin

Andrew McMackin

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8340

amcmackin@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
McMackin
Gerald McMackin

Gerald McMackin,
K.C.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2768

gmcmackin@stewartmckelvey.com

Mowat-Rose

Daniel Mowat-Rose

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3385 x63385

dmowatrose@stewartmckelvey.com

Mullally

Cullen Mullally

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4546

cmullally@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Kane

Jonathan O'Kane

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Parent
Julia Parent

Julia Parent

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2729

jparent@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Pike
Scott Pike

Scott Pike

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3317

spike@stewartmckelvey.com

Poirier

Danick Poirier

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2221

dpoirier@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Poirier
Mathieu Poirier

Mathieu Poirier,
TEP

Managing Partner, Moncton

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1949

mpoirier@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Pound
Christine Pound

Christine Pound,
ICD.D

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3391

+1.902.209.9267

cpound@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Randell
David Randell

David Randell

Partner and Energy Team Lead

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3309

+1.902.476.8760

drandell@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Reagh
Charles Reagh

Charles Reagh

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3335

creagh@stewartmckelvey.com

Reardon

Marc Reardon

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1700

mreardon@stewartmckelvey.com

Reed

Joel Reed

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2785

jreed@stewartmckelvey.com

Roth

Daniel Roth

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3367

droth@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Ryan
Maureen Ryan

Maureen Ryan,
K.C.

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8880

mryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Sapiano

Andrew Sapiano

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4507 x74507

asapiano@stewartmckelvey.com

Seviour

Colm St. Roch Seviour,
K.C.

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8847

cseviour@stewartmckelvey.com

Sheppard

Bill Sheppard

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8832

+1.709.727.7030

bsheppard@stewartmckelvey.com

Slipp

David Slipp

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3331

dslipp@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Smith
Barbara E. Smith

Barbara E. Smith,
K.C.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4514

+1.902.626.7481

bsmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Smith

Colton Smith

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3334

csmith@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Smith
Paul Smith

Paul Smith

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2787

psmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Staniland

Tauna Staniland,
K.C.

Managing Partner, St. John's

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8842

tstaniland@stewartmckelvey.com

Stapleford

Stephanie Stapleford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0155

sstapleford@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Stordy
Lawrence Stordy

Lawrence Stordy,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3347

lstordy@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Stuttard
Gavin Stuttard

Gavin Stuttard

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1709

gstuttard@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Tabor
Brian Tabor

Brian Tabor,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3397

btabor@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Travers
James Travers

James Travers,
K.C.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4504

jtravers@stewartmckelvey.com

Waberski

Alanna Waberski

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2792

+1.506.608.0700

awaberski@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh

Kim Walsh

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8834

kwalsh@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Wedlake
David Wedlake

David Wedlake

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1705

dwedlake@stewartmckelvey.com


Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /var/www/vhosts/stewmac.arrdev.ca/httpdocs/wp-content/themes/bb-theme-child/bb-ultimate-addon/modules/blog-posts/blog-posts.php on line 1716
Wright
Keisha Wright

Keisha Wright

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1766

kwright@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top